Ask Our Staff

Name(Required)
*Please provide as much detail as possible so we can assist with your inquiry. All questions and contact information will be kept confidential.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Join the Friends

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Email Contact Form for Mckenzie Barnes

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Email Contact Form for Cindy Buhne

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Email Contact Form for Leah Perron

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Email Contact Form for Sarah MacNeal

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Email Contact Form for Ashleigh Whipp

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Email Contact Form for Crystal Bergstrome

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Tool Library

Tool Category?

  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.

Tool Category?

  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.
  • Tool name and use, available time period for loan, etc.

SEARCH THE

FOR

BLOG & NEWS

Read-Alike: Book Recommendations

boy sitting at a computer trying code

You have just finished reading a book, and you loved it… Now what?

When you are looking to find your next great read, look no further than the library! Check out the resources below for book recommendations or scroll through our blog post for great read-alikes.

Novelist Plus

Access Novelist Plus, an online resource available from the library website free with your library card. Click to learn more.

Ask the Library Staff

We know our collection, and we want to help!

Readers Advisory Service

Request Readers Advisory Service on the library website. Staff will compile a reading list of titles and authors you might enjoy. Click to learn more.

Give us a Call

Need help? Call us at (705) 645-4171


Here are some read-alike book suggestions for a few popular authors!

telescope

The Rising Tide

By Ann Cleeves

Are you a fan of Ann Cleeves’ book “The Rising Tide”?

Fifty years ago, a group of teenagers spent a weekend on Holy Island, forging a bond that has lasted a lifetime. Now, they still return every five years to celebrate their friendship, and remember the friend they lost to the rising waters of the causeway at the first reunion. Now, when one of them is found hanged, Vera is called in. Learning that the dead man had recently been fired after misconduct allegations, Vera knows she must discover what the friends are hiding, and whether the events of many years before could have led to murder then, and now . . .

Themes: Mystery fiction, murder investigation series featuring Vera Stanhope, set in Scotland

Read-alike similar to Ann Cleeves


telescope

I Will Find You

By Harlan Coben

Are you a fan of Harlan Coben’s book “I Will Find You”?

Five years ago, an innocent man began a life sentence for murdering his own son. Today he found out his son is still alive. David Burroughs was once a devoted father to his three-year-old son Matthew, living a dream life just a short drive away from the working-class suburb where he and his wife, Cheryl, first fell in love–until one fateful night when David woke suddenly to discover Matthew had been murdered while David was asleep just down the hall…

Themes: Plot-driven suspense, edge-of-your-seat thrillers

Read-alike similar to Harlan Coben


telescope

It Ends With Us

By Colleen Hoover

Are you a fan of Colleen Hoover’s book “It Ends With Us”?

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up–she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily…

Themes: Romance fiction, modern love story

Read-alike similar to Colleen Hoover


telescope

The Diamond Eye

By Kate Quinn

Are you a fan of Kate Quinn’s book “The Diamond Eye”?

In 1937 in the snowbound city of Kyiv, wry and bookish history student Mila Pavlichenko organizes her life around her library job and her young son–but Hitler’s invasion of Ukraine and Russia sends her on a different path. Given a rifle and sent to join the fight, Mila must forge herself from studious girl to deadly sniper–a lethal hunter of Nazis known as Lady Death. When news of her three hundredth kill makes her a national heroine, Mila finds herself torn from the bloody battlefields of the eastern front and sent to America on a goodwill tour…

Themes: Historical fiction, strong biographical women characters

Read-alike similar to Kate Quinn


telescope

Daisy Jones and the Six

By Taylor Jenkins Reid

Are you a fan of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s book “Daisy Jones and the Six”?

A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of a world-famous 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer–and the secret reasons behind their dramatic break up. Daisy Jones is a beautiful, broken girl growing up in L.A. with rich parents who barely know she exists…. But when she sings in a crowded, smoky club, you can hear a pin drop. All she wants is to write her own songs, but the record studio has its own ideas. It’s the early 1970s and free love and drugs are everywhere, and Daisy wants to experience it all…

Themes: A captivating story, rock-and-roll band

Read-alike similar to Taylor Jenkins Reid


telescope

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

Are you a fan of Delia Owens’s book “Where the Crawdads Sing”?

“For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She’s barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world…

Themes: A blend of historical fiction, mystery and romance

Read-alike similar to Delia Owens


Share with a friend