zoom in zoom out

What's new @ the library

southern Fiction@your Library

We lost one of our best Southern Fiction writers when Dorothea Benton Frank died this past fall. Born and raised on Sullivan’s Island, South Carolina, Ms Frank set all her wonderful novels in that area. She was known for her strong female characters and witty charm. Another very popular author, Elin Hilderbrand has said, “ If I could read only one writer from now until the end of my life, it would be Dorothea Benton Frank.” Ms Frank’s most recent, and unfortunately her last, novel is Queen Bee – a classic Lowcountry tale of family life.

Fans of Ms Frank, and Southern Fiction in general, will enjoy the recent novel by Mary Alice Monroe called The Summer Guests. Equestrians and their horses are fleeing a hurricane and seeking shelter in North Carolina at a grand facility. Friendship, new romance, challenges and family tension all are featured in an idyllic setting.

Another book, set in the South, but with a touch of magical realism added to the story is The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins. The residents of Dove Pond, North Carolina, are wondering if the town’s good luck is about to change. If you like that little touch of magical realism, you might also try Sarah Addison Allen’s books, in particular The Peach Keeper.

It seems that book clubs everywhere are discussing another great southern novel, Where the Crawdads Sing, by Delia Owens. For years, rumours of the “Marsh girl” have circulated along the coast of North Carolina but is she really a murderer?

Several of the more popular southern fiction novels of the past have been made into very successful movies. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells and of course, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. All of these titles are available for your reading pleasure at the Bracebridge Public Library.

January 2020

By Ruth Holtz

Digital and Information Services Librarian

Bracebridge Public Library

 

 

On order cart

 Books on order

You may view what the library has ordered however please note, this is not a list of new acquisitions. Please do not contact the library to place a request on any of these items until they are available in the catalogue. Some items are ordered "pre-publication", so it could be several months before they arrive. THANK YOU.