zoom in zoom out

What's new @ the library

How to find a “good” book@your Library

A question we often hear at the Information Desk of the Library is “Can you recommend a good book?” Of course, that all depends on your definition of what is a good book. Do you like a certain genre like mysteries or historical fiction? Do you want sparse writing or very descriptive? Do you prefer books with a fast-pace or something more leisurely?

Yes –please do not hesitate to ask us at the Information Desk and we will definitely try to find something that you will enjoy. We will ask all of the above questions and perhaps more – do you have a favourite author? What books in the past have you really enjoyed?

The Library also has several means of helping you to find a good book on your own, if you prefer. Just opposite the Information Desk upstairs, is our Readers’ Advisory collection. This includes guides to reading preferences: Genreflecting, Now Read This, Christian Fiction, and others. You will also find a binder of suggestions that we have compiled such as readalikes: If you like this author, you might try………….

Another source of suggestions would be the Book Club binder which has lists of all the books that the Book Club members have read over the past 10 years and their comments or reviews. Since we meet 10 times a year and read a variety of genres and topics, this has become an extensive resource.

Finally, you will see in the Readers’ Advisory collection and at the catalogue computers upstairs, a variety of little bookmarks which we invite you to take. These may list authors similar to one you like, or books on a theme such as Courtroom Drama or Humourous Fiction. If you prefer non-fiction, we also have handouts on topics such as Healthy Living, Gardening, and Cooking.

Our goal is to see everyone find a good book to read every time they visit the Bracebridge Public Library.

September 27, 2019

By Ruth Holtz

Digital and Information Services Librarian

Bracebridge Public Library

 

 

On order cart

 Books on order

You may view what the library has ordered however please note, this is not a list of new acquisitions. Please do not contact the library to place a request on any of these items until they are available in the catalogue. Some items are ordered "pre-publication", so it could be several months before they arrive. THANK YOU.